Our Mission

The South Carolina Coalition Against Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault (SCCADVASA) serves as the collective voice promoting the prevention of domestic violence and sexual assault in South Carolina.

Our Vision

A South Carolina free from domestic violence and sexual assault.

Who We Are

Established in 1981, SCCADVASA is a leader in representing the critical needs of survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault and is a pivotal voice in violence prevention. We advance our work through advocacy, education, and collaboration. See below for a listing of our Board of Directors and staff.

Our Coalition

We are an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, but our approach is highly collaborative with our 22 domestic and sexual violence members who provide direct services in communities across the state, affiliates, partners and allies. SCCADVASA is an active member of several national domestic and sexual violence networks and we work in partnership with Coalitions in all 50 states and several US territories.

Our Core Values

Our vision of a violence-free South Carolina demands united action. We believe in the value of collaboration to create change, passionate advocacy for survivors, education for prevention and the credibility that emerges from persistence. We ground our work in humility as we learn and grow, leveraging our collective leadership to influence the greater good.

Our Leadership & Staff 

SCCADVASA’s Board of Directors and staff work to make South Carolina safer by raising awareness, advocating for effective policies, and providing extensive training and technical assistance to member organizations’ advocates and allies.

Our Staff

Sara Barber
Executive Director
Valerie Ekue
Director of Member Support and Community Justice
Patricia Ravenhorst
General Counsel
Natalie Sonek
Program Coordinator
Marie McDonald
Language Access & Trafficking Survivor Coordinator
Hannah Stewart
Coordinator of Prevention & Specialized Advocacy
Tricia Phaup
Program Coordinator for Training and Events
Amra Marshall
Systems Advocacy Coordinator
Kharimah Dessow
Staff Attorney
Peggy Chavis
Program & Administrative Support Specialist

SCCADVASA's 2020 Board of Directors

Scott Ballew
Cole Boyle
Colleen Campbell Bozard
CCBozard Consulting
Daniel Brownstein
Richardson, Patrick, Westbook, & Brickman, LLC
Jada Charley
Safe Homes Rape Crisis Coalition
Ashley Cole-Story
Kristin Dubrowski
Vice Chairperson | Domestic Violence Interest Group Chair
Hopeful Horizons
Nan Ford
Dan Kadar
Assurance Financial - Columbia
Ronald King
City of Columbia Community Development Department
Shannon Lambert
Sexual Assault Interest Group Chair
Pickens County Advocacy Center
Doug Pardue
Retired Journalist
Nicolette Rigon
Amelia Waring Walker, Esq.
Beth Young